An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

Visits And Agreements


To Greece
May 2018 President Kersti Kaljulaid
April 2018 Defence Minister Jüri Luik
September 2017 Interior Minister Andres Anvelt
May 2017 Prime Minister Jüri Ratas
July 2014 Prime Minister Taavi Rõivas
March 2014 Commander of the Estonian Defence Forces General Riho Terras
December 2013 Minister of the Interior Ken-Marti Vaher
June 2010 Riigikogu speaker Ene Ergma
May 2008 Foreign Minister Urmas Paet
June 2004 Minister of Foreign Affairs Kristiina Ojuland
May 1999 President Lennart Meri
To Estonia
September 2013 Bartholomew I of Constantinople
February 2013 Minister of Foreign Affairs Dimitrios Avramopoulos, working visit
May 2003 Prime Minister Costas Simitis
June 2002 Alternate Minister of Foreign Affairs Anastassios Giannitsis
October 2000 President Constantinos Stephanopoulos
October 1997 Alternate Minister of Foreign Affairs Georgios Papandreou


Since the restoration of Estonia’s independence the following agreements with Greece have been signed and have come into force:

  • Agreement for the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments (came into force 07.08.98);
  • Agreement on Maritime Transport (came into force 02.04.99);
  • Agreement on Abolishment of Visa Requirements (came into force 04.12.99);
  • Agreement on International Road Transport of Passengers and Goods (came into force 10.05.00);
  • Agreement on Co-operation in Tourism (came into force 13.12.00);
  • Agreement on Co-operation in Education, Science, and Culture (came into force 15.04.02);
  • Agreement of Protection of Classified Information (came into force 14.05.02);
  • Agreement on Co-operation on Defence (came into force 10.06.03);
  • Agreement on the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital (came into force 01.08.2008);
  • Memorandum of Understanding on Co-operation between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Hellenic Republic (came into force 27.02.2012);
  • Memorandum of Understanding between the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications of the Republic of Estonia and the Ministry of Administrative Reform and Electronic Government of the Hellenic Republic on Cooperation in Ways of  Combating Corruption and Bureaucracy through e-Government and Information and Communication Technologies (came into force 05.12.2012).