An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

Bilateral Relations

The Hellenic Republic recognised Estonia on 19 May 1922. In 1922 Aleksander Hellat, residing in Warsaw, was appointed the Estonian representative to Greece. He was only able to hold this position for a few months, because he was called back to Estonia in November to act as foreign minister. Before the Second World War, Estonia’s honorary consul in Athens was Augustin Constantin Papadatos (from 1929-1940) and the vice honorary consul in Pireus was Spiridon A. Georgandas (from 1928-1940). Greece had accredited Kimon A. Kollas, residing in Warsaw, as its ambassador to Estonia. Greece was represented in Tallinn by Honorary Consul General Jüri Parik until 1929, when the position was taken over by Oskar Kerson until 1940.

Diplomatic relations between the two countries were re-established on 2 October 1991. The Estonian Embassy was established in Athens in April 1997 and headed by Chargé d’Affaires a.i. Jüri Arusoo. The first Estonian ambassador to Greece after the restoration of independence, Andres Unga, presented his credentials to President Constantinos Stephanopoulos on 18 April 2001. He initially resided in Tallinn. As of August 2003 the Estonian ambassador resides in Athens. The current ambassador of Estonia to Greece, Priit Pallum, presented his credentials on the 12th of February 2018.

In 1993 Stelio Valsamas-Rhallis, residing in Helsinki, became the first ambassador of the Hellenic Republic to re-independent Estonia. The Greek Embassy in Tallinn was opened in February 2005 and the first ambassador to reside in Tallinn was Christos Karapanos. The second Greek ambassador to Estonia was Polydoros Kokonas, who presented his credentials on 27 November 2008 and left Estonia atin the end of March 2012. Constantine Catsambis was the third Greek ambassador to Estonia. He presented his credentials on 30 May 2013 and left Estonia at the end of June 2016.

The current Greek ambassador to Estonia, Maria Karnoutsou, presented her credentials on the 7th of September 2016.

Estonia currently has four honorary consuls in Greece: Emmanuel Dandoulakis on the Island of Crete, Nikolaos Kantarzis on the Island of Kos, Irene Panagopoulos in Patras and Efpraxia Avlogiari in Thessaloniki.

There is a Greek-Estonian friendship group in the Greek Parliament and its chairman is Papafilippou Georgios. From the Estonian side the chairman of the friendship group is Hanno Pehvkur.